The position which was won by Davido last year has now been switched to another gifted Afrobeats star, Burna Boy as he wins the African artist of the year at the VGMAs 2019.


On Saturday, May 18, 2019, the 20th Vodafone Ghana Music Awards held at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC). Asides the problem that unfolded between singers, Shatta Wale, and Stonebwoyduring the awards, the Nigerian singer won the African Artist of the year.

See full winners list below!

  1. Highlife Song of the Year – Shatta Wale – ‘My Level’
  2. Hiplife Song of the Year – Yaa Pono – ‘Obiaa Wone Master’ feat Stonebwoy
  3. Gospel Song of the Year – Diana Hamilton – ‘Mo Ne Yo’
  4. Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year – Shatta Wale – ‘Gringo’
  5. Afropop Song of the Year – Guilty Beatz – ‘Akwaaba’ feat Mr Eazi,
  6. Pappy Kojo & King Promise
  7. Hip hop Song of the Year – Kwesi Arthur – ‘Anthem’
  8. Gospel Artist of the Year – Diana Hamilton
  9. Reggae/Dancehall Artist of the Year – Stonebwoy
  10. Highlife Artist of the Year – Kuami Eugene
  11. Songwriter of the Year – King Promise – ‘CCTV’
  12. Record of the Year – Akwaboah – ‘Hye Me Bo’
  13. Best Video of the Year – ‘Come and See My Moda’ feat Yemi Alade (Dir Xbills Ebenezer)
  14. Hiplife/Hiphop Artist of the Year – Medikal
  15. Male Vocalist of the Year – KiDi
  16. Female Vocalist of the Year – Efya
  17. Group of the Year – Bethel Revival Choir
  18. Rapper of the Year – Medikal
  19. Best Collaboration of the Year – Stonebwoy – ‘Kpoo Keke’ feat
  20. Medikal, Kwesi Arthur, Darko Vibes & Kelvyn Boy
  21. African Artist of the Year – Burna Boy
  22. New Artist of the Year – Wendy Shay
  23. Song of the Year – To be announced
  24. Album of the Year – Kuami Eugene – Rockstar
  25. Artist of the Year – To be announced
  26. Best African Collabo – Guilty Beats ft. Mr. Eazi, Patapaa & Pappy
  27. Kojo – ‘Akwaaba’
  28. Instrumentalist of the Year – Mizter Okyere
  29. Unsung Artiste of the Year – Kula
  30. Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Mary Ghansah J. A. Adofo
  31. Prof. Kofi Abraham
  32. Producer of the Year – Kuami Eugene
  33. Sound Engineer of the Year – Francis Osei – ‘Hye Me Bo’
  34. Artiste of the Decade – Sarkodie